top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritany Murphy

Where does poetry begin?


I am sure we each had a different experience working. Each of these have lead us to our own opinion and view of what poetry really is.

Fourth Grade: Fourth grade was the first time I really remember spending time on poetry. I am sure we had worked on it in previous grades; I just did not remember any of it. I can remember being introduced to Shel Silverstein, Emily Dickinson, Edward Lear, and so many more. I fell in love with it! I loved the mystery behind each poem and trying to figure out what the author was really trying to say.

We were working on a poetry unit. I could remember writing various poems and ten publishing our favorites and them getting hung around the room, in the halls, and reading them aloud. About a week after finishing the unit, the teacher came in with a large box of little books. All the books were the same. They were small, and had a hard navy blue cover. She passed one out to every student. As we began to flip through the books, we realized they were our poems. She had taken our poems from the unit and had them published into a book. Each page was a different poem, including the title, and our names as the author. I remember my poem, Fall, was written in there. I do not remember what the exactly poem said. Since then, I have lost that book. But I cannot began to tell you how excited and proud we were to see our little poems published in that book.


My love for poetry continued into middle school. My seventh grade teacher introduced us to Edgar Allen Poe. I fell in love. She would read us a new poem every week. We would analyze the poem and then try to determine the meaning or reasoning behind the poem.


In 11th, grade of high school, we were required to memorize the Canterbury Tales Prologue. I can not say that made me a better poet. Actually, I do not really understand the benefits of it. Just because I could recite it did not mean I could comprehend it. But regardless, I had to recite it to the class. I did, it wasn't too hard or too nerve wrecking and I can still remember most of it to this day.


Now, as an adult, I do not read much poetry.

Poets I enjoy:
  • Edgar Ellen Poe

  • Emily Dickinson

  • Robery Frost

  • Walt Whitman

  • Langston Hughes

  • E.E. Cummings

  • Shel Silverstein

  • Ralph Waldo Emerson

  • Henry David Thoreau

  • Geoffry Chaucer

  • Homer

  • Mary Oliver



10 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

George.

I thought I disliked the book the first time I read it. But after reading it through a critical lens, I think I hate it even more. Scholastics recommended this book for grades 3-8. That absolutely ble

bottom of page