top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritany Murphy

My Poetry Unit



My poetry unit lasted for four days. I wish it could have lasted about two weeks but the students had a blast.

Day One: Introduction
Day Two: Figurative Language: Simile, Metaphor, Personification, Hyperbole
Day Three: Descriptive Language: Senses
Day Four: Repetition and Word Placement

Students were exposed to a wide range of poetry types on day one. The rest of the days they learned about new devices and strategies to implement into their own poetry. Each day the students watched me model, we completed a shared writing, independent writing, and then time for students to share their work.



Poetry Unit Lesson Plans Located Here!!

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1CzDCnmZu7AdmkfXjC-71wKO-nkHWMPAkUozv_1fFIHU/edit?usp=sharing


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

George.

I thought I disliked the book the first time I read it. But after reading it through a critical lens, I think I hate it even more. Scholastics recommended this book for grades 3-8. That absolutely ble

bottom of page