top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBritany Murphy

Ft. Anne-Catherine Rossi

There are so many things you can learn from mentor texts and specific authors; but other peers or bloggers may be just as influential. This week, I would like to feature a blogger whose posts I enjoy to read and provide me with new perspectives and strategies to try!


When Rossi writes a blog post she takes one of two approaches. Sometimes she simply posts her thoughts and rationale. Other times she poses a question and then responds to the question. I like the idea of posing a question because it is so direct and then targets a specific answer; which could be her major takeaway from the post.


 

In her first blog post, Mentor Texts ch. 1-3 Q & A, she discusses how she would use a writers notebook in a classroom setting. She throws out some great ideas about how to start a writers notebook. It may be a challenge for some students but depending on your approach as a teacher really affects the students. Also, I appreciate how Rossi uses pictures from her own WN in her blog posts! It makes the blog so much more personal and it acts as a great model for someone who is not familiar with WN's.


In her second blog, Blog Post Q&A #2, Rossi does a phenomenal job of showing her progress through a WN. She ties in some specific mentor texts that she favors. She models and gives examples of various strategies that reader could use (sensory chart). She ends the blog post by discussing the NC ELA Writing Standards and her opinions.


I encourage you to try some of her strategies, check out some mentor texts, and be sure to read some of the sources she used to write her posts!


I love reading Rossi's blog post and I encourage you to check her out. https://rossiacblog.wordpress.com/

8 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

George.

I thought I disliked the book the first time I read it. But after reading it through a critical lens, I think I hate it even more. Scholastics recommended this book for grades 3-8. That absolutely ble

bottom of page